University of Southern California

Faculty who are willing to work with you and support your research ideas

Armaity V. Austin, MD, MPH, FAAFP
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine at the CHMC/USC Family Medicine Residency Program
In addition to teaching ambulatory care and inpatient, Dr. Austin’s special interests include Integrative Medicine, Bio-Ethics, International/Global Health, quality improvement, community medicine and public and healthcare policy.

Alexis Coulourides Kogan – Alexis.CoulouridesKogan@med.usc.edu
Postdoctoral Scholar in Clinical Family Medicine

Michael R. Cousineau, Dr.PH – Cousinea@med.usc.edu
Professor if Family Medicine and Preventive Medicine
Dr. Cousineau studies the determinants of health care utilization for low-income populations, models of health insurance coverage, health care disparities, effectiveness of outreach and enrollment systems for public insurance programs, the operation of safety-net providers including community health centers and public hospitals, and health needs of vulnerable populations.

Mitzi D’Aquila – Daquila@med.usc.edu
Instructor of Clinical Family Medicine at the Primary Care Physician Assistant Program

Vicky Dunn, MD – Victoria.Dunn@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

Chris Feifer, DrPH – Feifer@med.usc.edu
Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Senior Department Administrator
Dr. Feifer is interested in health promotion, disease prevention and management, quality of care, and creating effective community programs.

Jerry Gates, Ph.D. – JDGates@med.usc.edu
Professor of Clinical Family Medicine, Principal Investigator and Director of the Pacific AIDS Education and Training Center (PAETC)
Training health care professionals to prevent, diagnose, and manage HIV. Improving HIV care in correctional settings including linking and retaining the formally incarcerated HIV+ in care.

Kate Gibson, MD – katherine.Gibson@med.usc.edu
Associate Professor and Family Medicine Clerkship Director of Clinical Family Medicine (Clinician Educator)
Dr. Gibson’s interests include women’s health and sports medicine.

Duke Han, PhD, ABPP-CN – Duke.Han@med.usc.edu

Diana Homeier, MD – Dianasch@med.usc.edu
Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Clinical Internal Medicine
Dr. Diana Homeier is board certified in family medicine and geriatric medicine. She currently runs the geriatric clinic at LAC+USC Medical Center as well as two elder abuse projects known as the LAC+USC Adult Protection Team and Los Angeles County Elder Abuse Forensic Center. Her research areas include elder abuse and neglect, multidisciplinary teams, and falls in older adults.

Kathleen Jacobson, MD – KJacobso@med.usc.edu
Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Dr. Jacobson’s main area of research interest is HIV with specific areas of focus in HIV testing and linkage to care, acute HIV, re-engagement in care, Pre Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) in women, HIV co transmitters, HIV workforce development, capacity building and HIV resistance interpretation. Dr. Jacobson also has a strong interest in global health. Additionally, Dr. Jacobson is interested in medical education with an emphasis on clinical reasoning.

Carolyn Kaloostian, MD, MPH – Carolyn.Kaloostian@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Dr. Kaloostian is interested in geriatric medicine, palliative care, end-of-life care, substance use disorder, complementary and alternative medicine, and preventative medicine.

Desiree Lie, MD, MSEd – Desiree.Lie@med.usc.edu
Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
Dr. Lie is interested in health disparities, health literacy, cultural competence education, interprofessional training, evidence-based medicine, and research in medical education (RIME).

Kevin C. Lohenry, Ph.D., PA-C, DFAAPA –  Lohenry@med.usc.edu
Director of the Physician Assistant Program, Vice Chair for Education, Department of Family Medicine and Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Areas of interest include leadership, interprofessional education and practice and diversity. Dr. Lohenry is a certified Leadership Practice Inventory Coach through Sonoma Leadership and Kouzes and Posner. The PA Program has a five-year training grant on interprofessional education and a two-year pipeline grant to increase the diversity of the profession.

Sarah Ma, PharmD – SaeByul.Ma@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Pharmacy
Dr. Ma is interested in interdisciplinary clinical services, interdisciplinary teaching methodologies, ambulatory care clinical pharmacy services in high-risk patients, and provision of medications to patients of a 340B- Covered Entities.

Maria Maldonado, MPH, MPAP, PA-C – Maria.Maldonado@med.usc.edu
Instructor of Clinical Family Medicine at the Primary Care Physician Assistant Program
PA Maldonado’s interests include obesity intervention and prevention; community health and empowerment; peer-to-peer education; culturally appropriate quality healthcare access for underserved communities; and pipeline efforts to increase the number of underrepresented students in healthcare.

Darryl Mayo, MPAS, PA – DDMayo@med.usc.edu
Instructor of Clinical Family Medicine

Laura Mosqueda, MD –  Laura.Mosqueda@med.usc.edu
Professor of Clinical Family Medicine, Dean of Keck School of Medicine of USC
Dr. Mosqueda’s interests include aging and geriatric medicine.

Annie Nguyen, Ph.D., MPH – Annie.Nguyen@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
My research areas of interest are in qualitative and quantitative research designs in exploring multiple dimensions of successful aging, social determinants of health, and minority health. More specifically, my research focuses on ways in which older adults with multiple chronic diseases and disabilities engage in self-management behaviors within the context of successful aging. I have a particular interest in diabetes, aging with HIV, and HIV-related comorbidities.

Bonnie Olsen, Ph.D. – Bonnie.Olsen@med.usc.edu
Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Vice Chair of Academic Affairs
Dr. Olsen practices as a clinical geropsychologist as part of the interprofessional geriatric assessment clinic at Keck Hospital ambulatory services. Her research interests include the early detection and intervention of elder abuse, particularly among dementia patients and their caregivers, impaired decision making as it relates to elder financial abuse, interdisciplinary teams in primary care and development of Patient Centered Medical Homes.

Chloe Powell, MPAS, PA-C – Chloe.Powell@med.usc.edu
Clinical Instructor of Family Medicine (Clinician Educator)

Jo Marie Reilly, MD – JMReilly@med.usc.edu
Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Areas of interests are diabetic group visits, interprofessional care, geriatric care, physician well-being, and maternal and child health.

Jehni Robinson, MD – Jehni.Robinson@med.usc.edu
Chair Department of Family Medicine 
Dr. Robinson is interested in obesity prevention, patient centered medical home, transforming primary care, and behavioral medicine in primary care.

Jenica Ryu, MD – Jenica.Ryu@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Director of Clinical Training with the USC Pacific AIDS Education and Training Center (PAETC)
Training health care professionals to prevent, diagnosis, and manage HIV. Improving HIV care in correctional settings including linking and retaining the formally incarcerated HIV+ in care and improving HIV care of homeless and those living in skid row that are HIV+.

Greg Stevens, Ph.D. – GStevens@med.usc.edu
Associate Professor of Clinical Family Medicine and Preventative Medicine
Dr. Stevens works on primary health care quality, health disparities and vulnerable populations, and health care and social policy. He has a particular interest in the primary care medical home.

Rose Taroyan, MD, MPH – Rose.Taroyan@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Dr. Taroyan’s interests include: Up To Date medical practice, preventive medicine, chronic disease management, and dermatological procedures.

Janice Tramel, MS-HPE, PA-C –  JTramel@med.usc.edu
Director of Clinical Education
Interests are in learning styles, clinical skills development, OSCE development, and implementation of new technology to enhance student learning. Clinical interests are adolescent medicine, geriatrics, legal/ethical issues, and effective use of physician assistants in a clinical practice.

Alberto Vallejo – Alberto.Vallejo@med.usc.edu
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine

Sean Webb, MD 
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine
Dr. Webb’s interests include: sports medicine, weight loss, smoking cessation, alcohol cessation, and urgent care. Dr. Webb is also a Navy veteran.

Research categories pertinent to primary care

  • Alternative Medicine
  • Behavioral Science
  • Clinical
  • Community-Based
  • Health Disparities
  • Economics of Health
  • Education
  • Epidemiology
  • Mental Health
  • Patient Education
  • Patient Quality/ Safety
  • Pediatrics
  • Public Health
  • Reproductive Health
  • Technology (Health, Technology & Engineering)